What is the Pokémon Trading Card Game?

The Pokémon Trading Card Game, abbreviated to PTCG or Pokémon TCG, is a collectible card game, based on the Pokémon franchise of video games and anime. Players assume the role of a Pokémon trainer and use their Pokémon to battle their opponents'. Players play Pokémon to the field and attack their opponent's Pokémon. A Pokémon that has sustained enough damage is knocked out, and the player who knocked it out draws a Prize card. There are usually six Prize cards, and the primary win condition is to draw all of them. Other ways to win are by knocking out all the Pokémon the opponent has on the field such that the opponent has none left, or if at the beginning of their opponent's turn there are no cards left to draw in the opponent's deck.


Check out our Calendar or Facebook page for more information on our Pokémon events.


You can check out the introduction video from the Official Pokémon YouTube Channel, just click the link below!



Card Types


Basic Pokémon are the foundation of all decks. They are Pokémon that have not evolved, and can be played directly onto the Bench.

In contrast, an Evolved Pokémon cannot normally be placed directly onto the field; they must be played on top of the corresponding lower-stage Pokémon. Stage 1 Pokémon evolve from Basic Pokémon, and Stage 2 Pokémon evolve from Stage 1 Pokémon. As a Pokémon evolves, it gains HP and its attacks change, typically becoming more powerful.

Baby Pokémon cards, introduced in Neo Genesis, are a special kind of Basic Pokémon that have low HP but attack with strange (sometimes very powerful) effects.

Pokémon EX cards were first introduced in the TCG set EX Ruby and Sapphire, and typically have higher Hit Points than other Pokémon, yet award an extra prize card to the opponent when defeated.

Mega Pokémon, introduced in XY, evolve from Pokémon-EX, but are a special stage; as such, effects on Stage 1 Pokémon do not apply to Mega Pokémon.

Break Pokémon are a special kind of Evolution card introduced later on in the XY series and can be evolved from either Basic Pokémon, Stage 1 Pokémon or Stage 2 Pokémon but they are considered their own separate stage of evolution.

Secret Rare Pokémon cards are some of the rarest cards. They are usually represented by a shiny holo foil and a gold outline. These cards include Shiny Pokémon, Trainers, alternate-art Pokémon, and some rarer Mega evolution cards.

Pokémon-GX cards were introduced with the Pokémon Sun & Moon expansion. These cards have a specific move set at the bottom of their card that can only be used once per game. Only one GX move can be played per game, so if there are three different Pokémon-GX cards in your deck only one of the three GX moves can be used.

Alolan Pokémon were introduced in the Sun & Moon expansion. These Pokémon are monsters that have an alternate form from their original look that is specific to Alola and the Sun & Moon series. Some of these are Sandshrew, Vupix, Muk and Grimer. There are many more.

Energy cards are attached to a Pokémon to power that Pokémon's attacks. Typically, only one Energy card may be played per turn. There are two main categories of Energy cards: Basic Energy and Special Energy. The nine different Basic Energy types (which correspond to Pokémon card types) are Grass, Fire, Water, Lightning, Psychic, Fighting, Darkness, Metal, and Fairy. Two additional types, Dragon and Colorless, do not have their own Energy cards and instead use other types of Energy. Basic Energy cards are used only to fulfill costs for attacking and retreating, while Special Energy cards have additional benefits. Most attacks require a certain type and amount of Energy. If an attack requires a certain type and amount of Energy, then that type and amount of Energy must be attached to the Pokémon. If the attack has a Colorless Energy requirement, that requirement can be met by any Energy card.

Trainer cards perform various functions to affect the game: healing Pokémon, discarding energy from the opposing Pokémon, or retrieving cards from the discard pile are some key examples. Before the Diamond & Pearl expansion, all cards that were not Pokémon or Energy were considered Trainer cards. Trainers have since been subdivided into categories: Item cards directly affect the battling Pokémon, Tool cards are attached to a Pokémon and modify their features, Stadium cards affect the entire field, and Supporters are like more powerful Items, only one of which can be played per turn.

Pokémon Types

Color TCG Type Type(s)
Green Grass Bug, Grass
Red Fire Fire
Blue Water Water, Ice
Yellow Lightning Electric
Purple Psychic Psychic, Ghost, Poison
Brown/Orange Fighting Fighting, Rock, Ground
Black Darkness Dark
Silver Metal Steel
Pink Fairy Fairy
Gold Dragon Dragon
White Colorless Normal, Flying

A simplified type system was adopted from the video games for use in the trading card game.

Most Pokémon have only one type, three exceptions are EX Team Magma vs Team Aqua which introduced Dual-type Pokémon that have two different types, XY: Steam Siege, and the Heartgold/ Soulsilver era sets. Dual-types were utilized in Pokémon LEGEND cards, to emphasize the multiple Pokémon the mechanic has in the Heartgold and Soulsilver sets. In August 2016, the Steam Siege expansion from the XY Series reintroduced dual-type Pokémon, this time with regular Pokémon being multiple types as well as EX Pokémon.